Welcome to your Lancashire

Useful Links

Directory of Lancashire Schools

Main Details

Lancashire County Council supports 617 schools across the county including 24 Nursery schools, 13 Short Stay schools and 30 Special schools.

Three and Four Year Old settings - the County Council has 24 Nursery schools and a large number of nursery classes attached to primary schools across the county. The County Council's Early Years Development and Childcare Partnership works with a large number of private and voluntary providers to ensure high quality early education places all over Lancashire.

Primary schools - Lancashire has 480 primary schools. There is a mix of infant, junior and all-through primary schools (3-11 or 4-11 years) including Community, Voluntary Controlled, Voluntary-Aided and Foundation schools.

Secondary schools - There are 70 Secondary schools (of which 15 offer sixth form education). Most of these are comprehensive although there are three districts which offer selective grammar school education, ie Ribble Valley, Lancaster and Rossendale. Transfer to secondary education is at 11.

Special schools - There are 30 Special schools maintained by the Authority. Mainstream schools also have extra resources to allow them to make provision for certain types of special educational needs.

Short Stay schools - There are 13 Short Stay schools (Pupil Referral Units) throughout the county which provide education to pupils at risk of exclusion or who are permanently excluded from school.

Lancashire County Council has a directory of all Lancashire schools which is available for download in a number of formats. Please follow the Useful Links section of this webpage for further information and to download a copy.

© 2014, Lancashire County CouncilPhone: 0300 123 6701 email: enquiries@lancashire.gov.uk