Welcome to your Lancashire

Elections (LCC)

Main Details

Elections are normally held on the first Thursday in May every four years (a by-election is held to fill a vacancy which occurs between elections). There are 84 members who are elected as county councillors to cover the 12 Lancashire district areas.  In Lancashire there are two unitary authorities (Blackburn with Darwen, and Blackpool). Lancashire county councillors do not represent these areas. 

Visit the elections website.

See also:

How to become a county councillor

A guide on how you can stand in county council elections.

How to vote at council elections

Voting at elections is normally by traditional methods through the ballot box at local polling stations or by postal voting or by proxy.  If you wish to vote at council elections by proxy or by postal vote, you should contact your  local district elections officer

Further information about voting can be obtained from the electoral commission

Electoral register

The register of electors is a list of the names and addresses of all those people eligible to vote.  People can add their names or change their details throughout the year. If you would like to check that you are registered to vote or actually register to vote please contact your local district council listed under useful links
© 2015, Lancashire County CouncilPhone: 0300 123 6701 email: enquiries@lancashire.gov.uk